• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • ScottSmith
    Speed Bag Trainee
    • Mar 2013

How To Height of speed bag

I know it would probably be just as easy to search the other threads. But, since I am new to this forum and must submit a message within 7 days, I thought I would just ask a few questions here.

1. At what height should the bag be? I have searched the internet and found several different answers. Bottom of bag at chin level or at tip of nose or at bridge of nose.
    2. Since I am also new to using a speedbag, are there any recommendations as to what size and manufacturer to go with? I currently have a Title Classic - 6" x 9"
  • Johnny5
    Speed Bag Trainee
    • Mar 2013

Hi

First of all welcome to the forum. I'm new here too and just finding my feet.

I may be corrected by someone but I've always been told that the belly (fattest part) of the bag should be level with your mouth.

As for the bag preference, that's entirely up to you. Most people seem to have a number of size and manufacture of different bags depending on mood.

There are some good posts on people's choice of bags.

Comment

• Dutchman
      Speed Bag Historian
      • Jun 2006

As far as the height of the platform, yes having the belly of the bag even with your mouth is the accepted height when you are hitting the bag "Bible style". This is the principal interest on these forums. Boxing instructors will tell you to have the bottom of the bag level with your eyes, which is intended to keep you arms and hands up. Assuming that you are interested in learning Bible style the former is what you want to do. As far as bag size, that's largely personal preference. A 6x9 bag is favored as a good beginning size by most here. By starting out with the bag a little on the soft side it allows you to master the basics. Once those are achieved you can firm it up a little and the speed will increase.

Comment

• Speedbag
        Author of the Speed Bag Bible, founder of speedbagcentral.com