X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • tryme
    • Mar 2010

speed bag basics

I'm not very good at it I can't go fast. i count 1,2,3 and (hitting on the 1 then counting 2, 3 then hitting 1 again then counting 2,3 etc etc, is that makes sense) why can't I go faster? When I try to go fast I end up hitting harder.
  • Mrs Mitts
    Speed Bag Guru
    • Feb 2010

Hi, there's plenty of people on this forum who would want to help you get going on the speedbag - maybe you need to give us a bit more detail on why you're getting frustrated?
    If you think you're getting a good 1,2,3 1,2,3 rhythm going but the bag somehow isn't keeping up with you, maybe you have an equipment problem?

Maybe if your arm movements are a bit too big with each strike, it could be slowing you down?

Best of all, if you could put up a little video I'm sure you'll get lots of helpful feedback. We're all here to learn!

Comment

• spinsmashpop
      Speed Bag Wizard

• Nov 2008

tryme... hello... welcome...
      Go super slow..... try to do that 10 times in a row with your right hand... then try it 10 times in a row with your left.....
      but.... dont' go faster... dont' hit harder... find the nice little sweet spot that "pops" the bag straight and keeps it centered.....
      ,....try to hit it with the outside of your fist, kind of like a stabbing motion in a bit of a downward angle....
      Like anything, it does take time... the first couple times I tried at a gym many years ago, I thought I'd get it in minutes.... I was wrong... I'm a drummer so I figured that would make it easy.... well it made it easier to understand , but like anyone, I had to start out slow....
      A little discipline does everyone some good.... prove to yourself you can hit 10 times each hand without mis-hitting and you will be proud!
      The speed will come later. The power should be avoided in the beginning and get the motion, feel and form together first.
      To quote Mr. Ringo Starr.....