X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • garyspeed
    • Jun 2015

What kind of bag should I get?

I am new to all this. I decided I wanted a speed bag for the garage. I saw one on CL. Its a everlast for $50. Then I saw this site and I see guys are making their own platforms and there are certain swivels to get. Is there a reason i shouldnt go out and get this bag? Its just a newer chinese everlast that some guy doesn want anymore.

I could weld up a frame and make a board but what bag and swivel should I get?
  • Dutchman
    Speed Bag Historian
    • Jun 2006

It would depend upon how old the set up is. If it's fairly recent the platform itself would be worth the bucks easily. The bags that come with these are throw away and usually the reason that the person has given up on it. If it's an older one (black particle board) then walk away at least at that price.

Comment

• garyspeed
      • Jun 2015

thanks Dutchman.

It looks like the newer one with a maple type board on it.

Included was an additional speed bag platform. Its like a metal ring with a "Whitely" hook/ball swivel on it. Has a heavy pipe and bracket for adjusting it.

So I got both for $50 but only got one bag.

From what you are saying Ill need to get a better quality bag. So this ring type one, is it supposed to have a wood board on it or does the bag just bounce off the ring itself? Are these any good?

Which one is better? Please advise and thank you very much.

Gary

Attached Files
      Last edited by garyspeed; 06-14-2015, 08:35 PM.

Comment

• Dutchman
        Speed Bag Historian
        • Jun 2006