• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Discipl3
    Speed Bag Trainee
    • Jul 2014

Ringside Bag / Swivel Combo?

Hey everyone I am just getting into boxing and looking at getting this speedbag and swivel. I am a beginner at the speedbag but I do not want to buy something that I will "grow" out of to fast.

What does everyone think of these?

It will cost $57 with shipping. Will these work good for me? Any input is appreciated, thanks!
  • Speedbag
    Author of the Speed Bag Bible, founder of speedbagcentral.com

• Feb 2006

Originally posted by Discipl3 View Post
    Hey everyone I am just getting into boxing and looking at getting this speedbag and swivel. I am a beginner at the speedbag but I do not want to buy something that I will "grow" out of to fast.

What does everyone think of these?

It will cost $57 with shipping. Will these work good for me? Any input is appreciated, thanks!
    Hi Discipl3,

That bag and swivel will probably work fine for you, however.....

The bag looks to be of the "small" size so control might be an issue at first. However if you hit softly at first, or perhaps underinflate it a smidge that will slow it down a bit.

That swivel is a fairly heavy unit but it will probably do fine for a "boxing" workout, meaning punching basically front the front or maybe front-and reverse. (seven punches from front and behind), and maybe some hook punching combinations as well. However, if you want to hit consistently from "all around the bag" meaning a lot of side punches, including lots of fists changing all around the bag, (front back and sides at will...) than you may find that swivel problematic because the mechanics of the parts and movement planes will sometimes (not always) influence the rebounds, and that makes the bag go in a slightly different angle than we expected.