• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • vandwedge
    Speed Bag Trainee
    • Apr 2013

injuries

I'm new to the speed bag, and I notice that my joints are a little achy/stiff sometimes after working out, even though I wear thick padded gloves. Is this likely to turn into something more serious/permanent over time?

Is there anyone on the forums who has been using speed bags for 15+ years? Do you have chronic hand pains or arthritis or anything similar?
  • Speedbag
    Author of the Speed Bag Bible, founder of speedbagcentral.com

• Feb 2006

Originally posted by vandwedge View Post
    I'm new to the speed bag, and I notice that my joints are a little achy/stiff sometimes after working out, even though I wear thick padded gloves. Is this likely to turn into something more serious/permanent over time?

Is there anyone on the forums who has been using speed bags for 15+ years? Do you have chronic hand pains or arthritis or anything similar?
    Hi Vandwedge and welcome to the forum and speed bagging.

Personally I passed the 15 year experience line 25 years ago, so I'm logging my 40th year of fairly active speed bag training. During that time I have had "achy hands" for short periods of time, usually after a lay off of some months in between serious workouts. The most important word in your post is "NEW". Many beginners will end up with some hand issues, for different reasons. One of the first is obvious, you are not used to blunt trauma of repetitive punching. During a normal speed bag session you can hit the bag hundreds of times. It takes a while for the hands (joints and skin) to get used to that.