• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Silky10
    Speed Bag Trainee
    • Mar 2011

Newbie - What bag is best for me?

Morning all (UK time), first post here.

I've recently bought a BBE frame and speedbag set (cheap and chearful so to speak) as I'm only a beginner. The bag which came with the set is very poor quality, it 'feels' very plastic and doesn't have a nice bounce off the platform, the platform itself is actually decent enough and is up solid (may get a some sand on top though to see if it improves the vibration a little). The swivel also seems decent enough.

I go to a boxing gym once a week and I'm starting to feel a little rythym when hitting the speedbag hence why I decided to get one for my home. The bag in the gym is a blue and white lonsdale one however it feels much much better than the BBE one that came with my set.

Any advice on what to look at? Can I assume a Medium bag is a good starting point? Leather bags the way to go?

Any advice much appreciated.
  • toolboxdiver
    Speed Bag Guru
    • Jan 2008

Originally posted by Silky10 View Post
    Morning all (UK time), first post here.

I've recently bought a BBE frame and speedbag set (cheap and chearful so to speak) as I'm only a beginner. The bag which came with the set is very poor quality, it 'feels' very plastic and doesn't have a nice bounce off the platform, the platform itself is actually decent enough and is up solid (may get a some sand on top though to see if it improves the vibration a little). The swivel also seems decent enough.

I go to a boxing gym once a week and I'm starting to feel a little rythym when hitting the speedbag hence why I decided to get one for my home. The bag in the gym is a blue and white lonsdale one however it feels much much better than the BBE one that came with my set.

Any advice on what to look at? Can I assume a Medium bag is a good starting point? Leather bags the way to go?

Any advice much appreciated.