• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • righty
    Speed Bag Trainee
    • Jan 2011

Intro and (of course) a Q: First Speedbag

Just wanted to chime in and say hello. Hitting a speedbag is something I've wanted to try for a long time so I figure I'll finally give it a shot! I have a place to mount the bag, and a platform. The only thing missing is, well, a speed bag.

I've read about sizes, shapes, etc but nothing definitive. I'm basically looking for a start. I noticed in the archives there are some good threads about sizes and so forth. To keep it simple, if you were buying your first bag and you were only going to buy one, which one would it be. If it's of consequence I have pretty big hands (though I gather bigger bags are better for beginners anyway)

I'm a noob, thanks for any help!
  • StevieMac
    • Oct 2010

Welcome to the forum. Personally I started on a 7 x 10 bag and I now know that if I had started with anything smaller it would been a really frustrating experience.

I'm now using a 5 x 8 and I love it but I'm glad I started where I did.
    Last edited by StevieMac; 01-05-2011, 05:21 PM.

Comment

• jumpcannon
      Creator of the Powermill Evil Swivel

• Jul 2010

Dont give me too much heat for saying this...but the i think the idea of a large bag for beginners is not accurate. Only reason i am saying this is because i have had a few beginners hit my speedbags and everyone thinks the 6x4 everlast pro was easier to learn on than my everlast TE:L. So i think you can learn on anysize. If i was brand new and wanted a 1st bag i would go with a promex 9x6. Its not a superfast bag. But its great to hit and just the right size for beginning and advanced hitting. Other options may be the title 9x6. The only bag i say stay away from are the Everlast Ta bags. I think their grey with yellow stitching. Those bags are terds.
      evilswivel@yahoo.com

Comment

• righty
        Speed Bag Trainee
        • Jan 2011