X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Avadia
    • Nov 2010

New Member Introduction

Hi everyone. I have been lurking for about a month now and finally decided to join. Great forum you have here. I live in Huntsville, Alabama, and have been hitting the speedbag now for about two months. I started as part of a fitness regimen, using the speedbag and heavy bag training as a warm up to my weightlifting routine. Of course, once I got into it, got a copy of Alan's book and found this site, I began to fall in love with the art of baggin'. I am just learning some basic moves and starting to put together some combinations. I have to say I really appreciate the fantastic resource you have built here, especially all the videos. It is both inspiring and a great learning tool.

As for equipment, I am using the Everlast adjustable platform, which I got on sale for $99. Seems to be a quality board, especially for the price (one of the few things I have bought from Everlast recently that I can say that about). It has a u-bolt swivel on it, which works good for my beginner hands, although I hope to try a ball and hook swivel at some point. I started with a couple of the Everlast Elite bags (med and large), one of which is decent but already cracking horribly, the other of which is deformed in shape and virtually unusable. So I upgraded recently to some Title bags. I got the 8x11, 7x10, and 5x8. They are all top quality bags, but the little one is just too fast for me right now. I love the other two, though.