• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • CrownMe
    Speed Bag Trainee
    • Mar 2010

new guy lookin for advice

Hey guys,

The other day I decided to try out the speed bag at the gym and immediately got hooked to it. Ever since I've been doing research to get a speedbag platform in my room.. BUT being on a budget, at the end decided that I'm going to make my own.

I already have my plan drawn up for the platform itself, but I needed some experienced opinions on the bag itself and the swivel.

Basically I'm just starting out so I dont need anything too advanced, and the platform I'm building will be 24 inches so I guess I cant use a big bag.

I was wondering which swivel is the quietest (without having to spend an arm and a leg).. If I make too much noise in the house, my moms gonna start using my head as a speed bag

Annd as far as bags are concerned they all look the same to me other than size and color so any advice in that department would be greatly appreciated.

oh and btw, I'm in Canada, so I'll probably have to order off ebay or something.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks guys (wish me luck)
  • Tim
    Administrator and Founder of SpeedBagForum.com

• Jan 2006

Originally posted by CrownMe View Post
    Hey guys,

The other day I decided to try out the speed bag at the gym and immediately got hooked to it. Ever since I've been doing research to get a speedbag platform in my room.. BUT being on a budget, at the end decided that I'm going to make my own.
    Welcome to the forum!

I already have my plan drawn up for the platform itself, but I needed some experienced opinions on the bag itself and the swivel.

Basically I'm just starting out so I dont need anything too advanced, and the platform I'm building will be 24 inches so I guess I cant use a big bag.
    To me, an 8x5 bag is the perfect size. That will work plenty fine on a 24" board. Even a 10x7 will work, although that's about the biggest you'll be able to go.