• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Griffin
    • Jan 2010

Introducing Myself

Hello Everyone,

After lurking for a few weeks and gleaning some terrific information from the archives, I've decided to join the forum. I'm very happy to be here, and already owe you all a debt of thanks for the outstanding information on this forum.

A little about myself: I've been hitting the bag for less than two months, but I'm completely addicted! I've been fairly athletic and musical all my life, but this really combines the two -- it has already helped heal a minor shoulder injury, reinvigorated my basketball game by strengthening my upper body, and it's just SO MUCH DAMN FUN! Feels like upside down drumming...

My local gym has a pretty decent adjustable platform, but I quickly realized I'd have more satisfaction if I bought my own bag and U-hook -- their bag is usually shredded, and the swivel and U-hook suffers a lot of abuse as well. When I started researching swivels I found this site, Alan's site, and the SpeedbagSkunk on YouTube... then I was REALLY hooked on the possibilities of speedbagging as a lifelong addition to my workout routine.

In just the short time that I've been hitting the bag, I've already recruited eight more people to speedbagging -- guys I shoot hoops with, a couple older guys at the gym who used to hit when they were younger, and my wife. I'll post a video shortly of both of us so you all can offer some tips and critiques...

Next up: I just bought a custom made platform on craigslist, and I'm preparing to mount it. I've got a cinder block wall in my home office, so it's going to be solid. The frame is VERY well made, and I'm modifying the design to make the unit adjustable. I'll post pics of the whole project as it progresses; the modification that makes it adjustable is a simple design, and something that would work for many of you that do not currently own adjustable platforms but WANT one...stay tuned.