• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • hanoncs
    Speed Bag Trainee
    • Aug 2009

Pain in Pinkie

I'm new to bagging and have been going strong for 5 days now, I'm becoming much faster. The thing is my pinkie has started hurting when I strech it back and it's a little swelled. I have been using no wraps or gloves. My bag is big but the packaging says medium(4210 Everlast). The only thing I could think of is the bag is to inflated. Any ideas?
  • Speedbag
    Author of the Speed Bag Bible, founder of speedbagcentral.com

• Feb 2006

Originally posted by hanoncs View Post
    I'm new to bagging and have been going strong for 5 days now, I'm becoming much faster. The thing is my pinkie has started hurting when I strech it back and it's a little swelled. I have been using no wraps or gloves. My bag is big but the packaging says medium(4210 Everlast). The only thing I could think of is the bag is to inflated. Any ideas?
    The Everlast 4210 is an 11x8 but seems to be bigger than that with a broad fat belly. Your pickie pain could be from over inflation. If the bag is over filled it will be too hard and feel like hitting a brick. The outer edge of the pickie is located on the side of the hand, which takes a lot of contact during a workout. You should be able to hold the bag and press in with your thumbs, feeling the bag give a bit. When you hit, you should also see and feel a bit of give in the outer wall.