• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • chiefbigred
    Speed Bag Trainee
    • Jun 2009

New Bagger

Hi guys,

Came upon your site while googling speed bags. I decided to share my info, but I don't know how active I will be on the site. Probably more of a lurker than a poster.

I work for an offshore construction company. The vessel I work on has a gym in it. In the gym on the wall is a speed bag. I have never hit a bag before this one. One day I decided I was going to give it a shot. Much like the rest of you, I had to experiment with height, distance, etc.

The 'drum' is a piece of plate steel welded to the wall. Not adjustable. I am not adjustable either, so I have to stand on a stool while hitting. But I will get to more of that.

Anyways, I have been working on the bag for about 2 months. I am freeking hooked, and I am considering setting something up at home when I finally get home.

What I have to work with out here is crap. As I mentioned, the 'drum' is a sheet of plate steel. The swivel is of the plastic/delrin type. The hook is pretty worn from the years of metal on metal contact. The bag is an Everlast 4210 (Don't know the size, but it is a larger one).

I use the bag as cardio in between my weight sets. I do mostly front rolls 4R then 4L. Very few front punches. Tonight I just started the 1x1 (machine gun I think you guys call it). It's difficult with this bag.

I get the best work out by clobbering the bag as hard as I can. It doesn't rebound well if it isn't hit hard enough.

Anyways, that is my story. Your input is appreciated. Thanks for letting me join.

chiefbigred (my common handle for forums)
    Attached Files
  • chiefbigred
    Speed Bag Trainee
    • Jun 2009

Oh...and the sway of the vessel sometimes complicates things. haha.

Comment

• Biff
      Speed Bag Wizard

• Feb 2008

Welcome to the forum, Chief. Sounds like you have a unique situation.