• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Ohio Bill
    Speed Bag Trainee
    • Jan 2009

Upkeep for bags?????

I just read the thread about Everlast taking care of the bags for spin, Just wondering and didn't want to threadjack him about upkeep, and if it would ad does keep the bags lasting longer and such.

Do any of you use any type of leather conditioners on the bags????
    Why have I read that some of you deflate the bags you are not using???

Then a question about something else: Any of you ever try to hit the speedbag with any type of weights on your wrists or hands?? I have been thinking that it may help me to increase my speed later if I tried to do this with some type of resistance. Anyone ever try it??

Thanks
  • Tim
    Administrator and Founder of SpeedBagForum.com

• Jan 2006

See here: http://www.speedbagforum.com/forums/...ead.php?t=1333

Some do, some don't. I don't , but the bags I use heavily look like hell for it. I've got an 8x5 I've been using for about 3 years, and it's pretty worn, but still works well.

If not using a bag for an extended amount of time, you may want to deflate it slightly, I know Alan recommends that, but I don't recall why exactly. He can chime in here...

I have not tried hand weights or anything similar for added resistance. To be honest I don't really even like gloves or wraps because of the bulk...

On an unrelated note, this is post #1002 for me ... woot!

Comment

• Speedbag
      Author of the Speed Bag Bible, founder of speedbagcentral.com

• Feb 2006

Originally posted by Tim View Post

Some do, some don't. I don't , but the bags I use heavily look like hell for it. I've got an 8x5 I've been using for about 3 years, and it's pretty worn, but still works well.

If not using a bag for an extended amount of time, you may want to deflate it slightly, I know Alan recommends that, but I don't recall why exactly. He can chime in here...