• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Superman
    Speed Bag Trainee
    • Jul 2006

TKO speedbag....good? er..no..

Hey guys, I just bought my first speed bag and am currently in the process of building a drum...ive been reading all of the posts on here and I am learning a lot..

I am very new to speed bags so I went out and was able to pick up a TKO speedbag for a minimal price and the guy through in the swivel for free. Total cost - $9.88 + tax from my local fitness store..Ive seen the swivels that wal-mart and such sell which are Everlast brand but they appear to be cheap with just the little hook that goes through the loop...My swivel locks in and appears to be of higher quality....(again im new to this so I have no idea) For all I know I could have purchased the cheapest and most worthless setup known....

If you guys could let me know if it is worth me even bothering to use the TKO bag or should I go out and purchase a Title bag or something, and if theres any pointers you could give to absolute beginners on how to begin learning..it would be GREATLY appreciated....THANKS
  • Speedbag
    Author of the Speed Bag Bible, founder of speedbagcentral.com

• Feb 2006

Speed Bag brands

It is very hard for me to speak about specific equipment if I'm exactly sure what you are talking about. There are various types and perhaps levels of quality to certain speed bag brands and accessory equipment. TKO has several higher quality bags, and it has some lessor versions. I can't speak to either for I haven't really used them. By the pictures of the "lessor" bags, I don't think I would care for their shape. Again, I haven't hit them, so I can't say their good or bad.

As far as swivels go, again without a picture or specific reference it is difficult to tell exactly what swivel you are talking about. There are many variations of ballhooks, chainlinks and other types of swivels.