• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Gary Bryant
    Speed Bag Trainee
    • Aug 2007

Beware the Pro Ball swivel available on Amazon

Amazon has available for $22.00 or so a "Pro Ball Swivel" that looks exactly like the old Everlast metal ballhook. I'm new to the speed bag, and consulted this forum for the best swivel. The concensus seemed to be that the old Everlast was the one, if you can find it. Well, the one on Amazon may look like the old Everlast, but it is not. The product pictured is not what you get. What you get is the Century "Ball & Hook" swivel that doesn't use a "ball" at all, but a curved metal dome with a hook screwed in. Plus, the housing does not screw apart like the old Everlast. Not sure if it's Amazon or Century that provided the wrong picture, or if it was done so intentionally, but the Amazon picture clearly is misleading. Anyone know where I can get one of the old Everlast swivels or something comparable?
  • Gary Bryant
    Speed Bag Trainee
    • Aug 2007

Amazon and the Vendor Respond

Happily, both Amazon and the vendor, esportsonline, acknowleged the problem, refunded the purchase price, and are correcting the on-line picture. Couldn't ask for a better response.

Comment

• Tim
      Administrator and Founder of SpeedBagForum.com

• Jan 2006

Originally posted by Gary Bryant View Post
      Anyone know where I can get one of the old Everlast swivels or something comparable?
      Many now consider the everlast plastic ball and hook to be about as good as the old metal one. You should be able to find those in any sportings goods store.

If you're determined to have metal, look for used speed bag platforms on craigslist or e-bay. Many of the older ones include an everlast swivel.

Comment

• Busta Knuckles
        • Jul 2007