Speed bag newbie here saying hi with a video of my progress!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • REDMASTA
    Speed Bag Trainee
    • Jun 2011

Speed bag newbie here saying hi with a video of my progress!

Just wanted to say hi, this is a really great site! I've been lurking this forum for a while deciding what to get as my first speed bag and other general tips. I finally bought a heavy bag and speed bag combo stand a few weeks back. I live in an apartment so it was my only choice. I doubled up the drum and attached it to the vertical support with 4 heavy duty metal L-brackets, clamped the two vertical poles together and threw a 50lbs sand bag on top. The whole stand is also weighted down with 300lbs and it's fairly stable. It has a little vibration when you get going but it really isn't that bad much better than I had expected.

Being new to this I went with a 10 x 7 Title Gyro bag as many suggested a bigger bag for a beginner. To be honest I didn't really like this size, right off the bat it felt hard to get it moving quickly and it felt big when trying to learn linking, almost as if it got in the way of my hands. I would suggest if you are a quick learner start with a 9 x 6. I ended up ordering a Title Classic 9 x 6 a couple days later and got it the same week. This thing is TINY for a 9 x 6. I don't know what kind of measuring tape they use but it's closer to an 8 x 5. I was worried bout the size at first but got used to it right away, love how much easier it is to manipulate.

Anyway don't want to drag on so here is my first video. I've been bagging for just over 2 weeks in this video so my consistency isn't that good and I have a LOT to learn. One word of advice I can offer to people starting out is get Alan Kahn's Speed Bag Bible. You would be CRAZY not to use this guide when you begin it has helped me progress faster then I ever imagined. I'll post a better video up in the future once I get a little more experienced!