• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Roc Stone
    Speed Bag Guru
    • Oct 2007

Some say I go a bit over the top

Hey Guy's.

This is my latest drum. I've been using it for about he last 3-4 months now so I thought I'd make a vid and give you blokes a look.

Like my new drum??? Lets me get a little more involved... The 2nd half is better than the 1st
    Last edited by Roc Stone; 04-12-2008, 04:55 AM.
    sigpic'IRON HORSE, LIVE TO RIDE'
  • Speedbag
    Author of the Speed Bag Bible, founder of speedbagcentral.com

• Feb 2006

Wow, what a THICK drum you have!

Does the video really reflect the timbre of the sound? I would think a board that thick would have a deeper, fuller sound than this video reflects. Perhaps it the video quality or sound processes in the upload that makes it sound higher.
    Speed Bag

Put a little Rhythm in YOUR workout!
    *attendee: Every SB gathering so far!
    The Quest Continues...
    Hoping for another Gathering...

sigpic

The Art of the Bag

Comment

• Roc Stone
      Speed Bag Guru
      • Oct 2007

Without going too much into the 'timbre' effect; when I built the drum I was striving to achieve something that had a resonating sound, trying to get some type of harmony. I do get a different pitch out of all of my bags and I am hearing several different pitches and waves of vibration out of the everlast B/H swivel.

The flange holding the B/H swivel has steadily (over time) elongated on all of the planes, more on the forwards, backwards than on the left and the right. What was a hole is now in the early stages of looking more like a 4 point star. In my opinion this is a major contributing factor with the pitch of our 'click' friend in these types of swivels,the click sound is probably louder than the bag hitting the drum.