• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Shep
    Speed Bag Trainee
    • Nov 2015

First post!

Good morning gentlemen. Just wanted to introduce myself and say hi. My friends call me Shep, I work as a heavy equipment mechanic, and I enjoy many forms of workouts, one of which is boxing.
    I generally ignored the speedbags in my boxing gym because well... I couldn't hit the damn things, but recently I broke my foot while out on a trail run (snapped the 5th metatarsal) and I've been changing up my workouts to accommodate being in a cast.
    Long story short not only have I taken a liking to the speedbags in my gym, I've also started building my own home setup. As of now, I'm almost finished with the drum.

This is what it looks like right now

I build it out of cheap redwood 2x4s from Lowe's

Anyway I'm glad to be a member in this forum, I've been reading a while now and finally decided to join and post
  • stefoz
    • Apr 2015

welcome!! enjoy the speed bag journey

Comment

• Zaza
      Speed Bag Guru
      • Apr 2011

Oh... that's looking like a beautiful platform! Welcome to the forum, we all look forward to some video when you finish that platform. Cheers!
      -Zaza
      Art of the Bag - A Speed Bag Story
      http://www.artofthebag.com

Comment

• Speedbag Seaweed Man
        Speed Bag Guru
        • Apr 2015

Nice one Shep! I like your drum you made too. My nonagon shape one is redwood. Welcome onto the forum.

Comment

• Shep
          Speed Bag Trainee
          • Nov 2015

Thanks guys! I have Ringsides heritage bag coming in for it. That black Friday code they put out made it easier to pull the trigger

Comment

• Shep
            Speed Bag Trainee
            • Nov 2015