Fixed platform height and different bag sizes?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • StevieMac
    • Oct 2010

Fixed platform height and different bag sizes?

I built my own fixed height platform and it turns out it’s mounted a little high. No big deal, I’ll move it down a bit but I want to wait until I receive my ball hook swivel (I’m currently using a chain link swivel). In the meantime I’ve stacked up a couple of mats to stand on to bring the bag closer to the correct height.

I’m new at this and am presently using a medium size bag, which I believe is 7.5” x 10” but presumably/hopefully at some point I’ll want to try a smaller bag. So if you are using multiple bag sizes and a fixed platform height how are you determining the best height for your platform? Obviously it’s a compromise but would you suggest having the medium bag hang slightly low so smaller bags are at a more ideal height or hang the medium bag at optimum height and have the smaller bags hang slight higher?

I suppose I can always stand on a mat or two when using a smaller bag.
  • novaspeedbagger
    Speed Bag Guru
    • Aug 2010

You can always stand on a mat with a smaller bag, but if you want to use a bigger Speed bag but the platform is too low and permanent you are out of luck. It's kind like a bad haircut in reverse. You tell the barber to cut too much off and want more put back on.....no can do. With the platform you can always add mats if you mount it a little higher as you seem to have already done. Stick with that is my advice.
    Novaspeedbagger

Comment

• StevieMac
      • Oct 2010

Sounds good Novabagger. Thanks for the advice.

Comment

• ukspeedbag
        Speed Bag Guru
        • Nov 2007